The Millennium Prize Problems

The Millennium Prize Problems

On August 8, 1900, at the second International Congress of Mathematicians in Paris, David Hilbert delivered his famous lecture in which he described twenty-three problems that were to play an influential role in mathematical research. A century later, on May 24, 2000, at a meeting at the College de France, the Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI) announced the creation of a US$7 million prize fund for the solution of seven important classic problems which have resisted solution. The prize fund is divided equally among the seven problems. There is no time limit for their solution. The Millennium Prize Problems were selected by the founding Scientific Advisory Board of CMI--Alain Connes, Arthur Jaffe, Andrew Wiles, and Edward Witten--after consulting with other leading mathematicians. Their aim was somewhat different than that of Hilbert: not to define new challenges, but to record some of the most difficult issues with which mathematicians were struggling at the turn of the second millennium; to recognize achievement in mathematics of historical dimension; to elevate in the consciousness of the general public the fact that in mathematics, the frontier is still open and abounds in important unsolved problems; and to emphasize the importance of working towards a solution of the deepest, most difficult problems. The present volume sets forth the official description of each of the seven problems and the rules governing the prizes. It also contains an essay by Jeremy Gray on the history of prize problems in mathematics.


Author
Publisher American Mathematical Soc.
Release Date
ISBN 9780821836798
Pages 165 pages
Rating 4/5 (9X users)

More Books:

The Millennium Prize Problems
Language: en
Pages: 165
Authors: James Carlson
Categories: Mathematics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.

On August 8, 1900, at the second International Congress of Mathematicians in Paris, David Hilbert delivered his famous lecture in which he described twenty-thre
Millennium Prize Problems
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000 - Publisher:

The Millennium Problems
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Keith Devlin
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-10-16 - Publisher: Basic Books

In 2000, the Clay Foundation announced a historic competition: whoever could solve any of seven extraordinarily difficult mathematical problems, and have the so
The Millennium Meeting Collection
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Timothy Gowers
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-03-01 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

In May 2000, the Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI) held its Paris Millennium Event at the College de France. On this occasion, CMI unveiled the "Millennium Prize
Invisible Geniuses: Could the Knowledge Frontier Advance Faster?
Language: en
Pages: 66
Authors: Ruchir Agarwal
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-12-07 - Publisher: International Monetary Fund

The advancement of the knowledge frontier is crucial for technological innovation and human progress. Using novel data from the setting of mathematics, this pap
Poincare's Prize
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: George G. Szpiro
Categories: Mathematics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-07-29 - Publisher: Penguin

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it In the tradition of Fermat’s Enigma and Prime Obsess
Quantum Field Theory I: Basics in Mathematics and Physics
Language: en
Pages: 1052
Authors: Eberhard Zeidler
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-04-18 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

This is the first volume of a modern introduction to quantum field theory which addresses both mathematicians and physicists, at levels ranging from advanced un
The PoincarŽ Conjecture
Language: en
Pages: 178
Authors: James Carlson
Categories: Mathematics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-16 - Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.

The conference to celebrate the resolution of the Poincare conjecture, which is one of the Clay Mathematics Institute's seven Millennium Prize Problems, was hel
Millennium Prize Problems
Language: en
Pages: 30
Authors: Source Wikipedia
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09 - Publisher: University-Press.org

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Pages: 26. Chapters: Birch and S
Proofs in Competition Math: Volume 2
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Alexander Toller
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com