Escape From the Ghetto

Escape From the Ghetto

'Trust me, this is a great true story' - Ken Follett 'This is an unbelievable story that is all completely true. The life described is astonishing. John Carr has done an extraordinary and riveting job uncovering the real father behind the dad he thought he knew.' - Lord Tony Hall 'Utterly compelling. It is an extraordinary tale, brilliantly written' - Alastair Stewart 'Extraordinary. An adventure story in the most terrible circumstances, a kid facing the most desperate dangers but taking fantastic risks with great boldness' - Fiona MacTaggart 'The remarkable story of a Jewish boy who killed a Nazi guard and escaped the Holocaust aged 13' - The Times ~~~~~ In early 1940 Chaim Herzsman was locked in to the Lódz Ghetto in Poland. Hungry, fearless and determined, he goes on scavenging missions outside the wire limits, until he is forced to kill a Nazi guard. That moment changes the course of his life, and sets him on an unbelievable adventure across enemy lines. Escape from the Ghetto is about a normal boy who faced extermination by the Nazis in the ghetto or a Nazi deathcamp, and the extraordinary life he led in avoiding that fate. It's a bittersweet story about epic hope, beauty amidst horror, and the triumph of the human spirit. John Carr is Henry Carr's eldest son, and in Escape From the Ghetto he has recreated his father's incredible adventure, through recordings and transcribed conversations in later life. For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Saboteur of Auschwitz and The Volunteer, this is the incredible true story of escape from the Nazis during World War II.


Author
Publisher Hachette UK
Release Date
ISBN 1529381568
Pages 336 pages
Rating 4/5 (66 users)

More Books:

Escape From the Ghetto
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: John Carr
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-24 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'Trust me, this is a great true story' - Ken Follett 'This is an unbelievable story that is all completely true. The life described is astonishing. John Carr ha
Defiance
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Nechama Tec
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-12-26 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

The prevailing image of European Jews during the Holocaust is one of helpless victims, but in fact many Jews struggled against the terrors of the Third Reich. I
The Holocaust in the Soviet Union
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Yitzhak Arad
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-27 - Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

How Was It Possible?
Language: en
Pages: 920
Authors: Peter Hayes
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04 - Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

As the Holocaust passes out of living memory, future generations will no longer come face-to-face with Holocaust survivors. But the lessons of that terrible per
Studies in Contemporary Jewry: IX: Modern Jews and Their Musical Agendas
Language: en
Pages: 378
Authors: Ezra Mendelsohn
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1993 - Publisher: OUP USA

This volume examines music's place in the process of Jewish assimilation into the modern European bourgeoisie and the role assigned to music in forging a new Je
Fugitives of the Forest
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Allan Levine
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-07-13 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

The heroic story of Jewish resistance and survival during the Second World War.
The Jews of Bielorussia During World War II
Language: en
Pages: 333
Authors: Shalom Cholawski
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

A history of the Jews in three northeastern regions of prewar Poland - Vilna, Nowogrodek, and Polesia (roughly corresponds to Western Belorussia) - from the ann
Never Again
Language: en
Pages: 185
Authors: Martin Gilbert
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-08-17 - Publisher: Rosetta Books

A work forty years in the making—Sir Martin Gilbert’s illustrated survey of the pre- and post-war history of the Jewish people in Europe. Masterfully coveri
The End of the Holocaust
Language: en
Pages: 731
Authors: Michael Robert Marrus
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989-01-01 - Publisher: Walter de Gruyter

Diese Reihe bietet erstmals eine Basissammlung von Faksimiles englischsprachiger historischer Artikel zu allen Aspekten der Vernichtung der europäischen Juden.
Flares of Memory
Language: en
Pages: 344
Authors: Anita Brostoff
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

Contains memories of childhood during the Holocaust, recalling the humiliation, suffering, and triumph experienced by children as they endured mistreatment at t