Bland Fanatics

Bland Fanatics

A wide-ranging, controversial collection of critical essays on the political mania plaguing the West by one of the most important public intellectuals of our time. In America and in England, faltering economies at home and failed wars abroad have generated a political and intellectual hysteria. It is a derangement manifested in a number of ways: nostalgia for imperialism, xenophobic paranoia, and denunciations of an allegedly intolerant left. These symptoms can be found even among the most informed of Anglo-America. In Bland Fanatics, Pankaj Mishra examines the politics and culture of this hysteria, challenging the dominant establishment discourses of our times. In essays that grapple with the meaning and content of Anglo-American liberalism and its relations with colonialism, the global South, Islam, and “humanitarian” war, Mishra confronts writers such as Jordan Peterson, Niall Ferguson, and Salman Rushdie. He describes the doubling down of an intelligentsia against a background of weakening Anglo-American hegemony, and he explores the commitments of Ta-Nehisi Coates and the ideological determinations of The Economist. These essays provide a vantage point from which to understand the current crisis and its deep origins.


Author
Publisher Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Release Date
ISBN 0374711909
Pages 224 pages
Rating 4/5 (00 users)

More Books:

Bland Fanatics
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Pankaj Mishra
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-06 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

A wide-ranging, controversial collection of critical essays on the political mania plaguing the West by one of the most important public intellectuals of our ti
Egypt and the Contradictions of Liberalism
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Dalia F. Fahmy
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-05 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The liberatory sentiment that stoked the Arab Spring and saw the ousting of long-time Egyptian dictator Hosni Mubarak seems a distant memory. Democratically ele
Liberalism and Its Discontents
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Francis Fukuyama
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-05-10 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

A short book about the challenges to liberalism from the right and the left by the bestselling author of The Origins of Political Order. Classical liberalism is
Age of Anger
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Pankaj Mishra
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-26 - Publisher: Penguin UK

How can we explain the origins of the great wave of paranoid hatreds that seem inescapable in our close-knit world - from American 'shooters' and ISIS to Trump,
Crises and Popular Dissent
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Mike O'Donnell
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-30 - Publisher: Emerald Group Publishing

The main focus of Crises and Popular Dissent is on liberalism and populism in the United States, Europe and Britain, arguing for an internationalist rather than
Self-Examination
Language: en
Pages: 150
Authors: T. Hoogsteen
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-28 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

Christianity, or what is called Christianity, conforms largely to Western humanism. Together and individually, believers draw the whole of the West into themsel
Making Refugees in India
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Ria Kapoor
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-20 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Offering a global history of India's refugee regime, Making Refugees in India explores how one of the first postcolonial states during the mid-twentieth century
A Post-Exotic Anthropology of Soqotra, Volume I
Language: en
Pages: 407
Authors: Serge D. Elie
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-20 - Publisher: Springer Nature

This two-volume book offers a panoramic explanatory narrative of Soqotra Island’s rediscovery based on the global significance of its endemic biodiversity. Th
Against White Feminism
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Rafia Zakaria
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-09 - Publisher: Penguin UK

An essential, comprehensive account of what white feminism is, and an empowering manifesto for revolution For readers of Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Tal
Run And Hide
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Pankaj Mishra
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-24 - Publisher: Random House

FROM THE AWARD WINNING AUTHOR OF AGE OF ANGER 'A spectacular, illuminating work of fiction' JENNIFER EGAN 'Terrific . . . elegantly written, incisively observed